The Melbourne Athenaeum Library will be closed from Friday May 5 for the installation of new shelving and will reopen on Tuesday May 9.

Board and Staff

The Melbourne Athenaeum is an incorporated association governed by a committee of management,

Office bearers are elected annually at the AGM and one third of the general committee positions are declared vacant at the AGM.

The association's principal activity is to manage a heritage building, provide a recreational library for members, manage an archive and encourage interest in the organisation and its activities.



The Honourable Linda Dessau AM, Governor of Victoria


Committee of Management

Office Bearers

President:                Don Smith

Vice-President:         Andrew Barnes

Treasurer:                Kevin Quigley

General Committee

Sophie Arnold, Louise Box, Marianne Dunham, Christine Gibbs, Matthew Gisborne, Barbara Gliddon, Athanasios Tsakonas


Financial Management

David Pryor, accountant

Caroline Debevc, bookkeeper


Business Manager

Sue Westwood


Marketing and Communications Coordinator

Lawana Coulson



Honorary Librarian

Rose Blustein

Library Staff

James Baker, Tom Coleman, Penny Cook, Clare Murayama


Perry Anderson, Lea Beranek, Aaron Cook, Wallis Gandell, Norma Gates, Lynne Johnston, Moyra McAllister (life member), Pat Miller



Volunteer Archivist

Marjorie Dalvean (life member)

Archive Volunteers

Lynne Clements, Gerry Ely, Kaye Goldenberg, Ruby Gray, Anne Marsden, Christine Perkins, Anthony Perrin