The Melbourne Athenaeum will close for the New Year period at 4:00pm Wednesday December 20 and will reopen at 10:00am Tuesday January 9.

During this period the returns box will be available on the landing outside the library when the building is open. Ebooks and eaudiobooks will be available through Overdrive and the Libby app.


Browse the Collection

The Athenaeum Library's most popular titles of 2022

top 10
The man who died twice
Richard Osman
top 10
The heron's cry
Ann Cleeves
top 10
A gentleman in Moscow
Amor Towles
top 10
Bad actors
Mick Herron
top 10
Crossing places
Elly Griffiths
top 10
Still life
Sarah Winman
top 10
The madness of crowds
Louise Penny
top 10
The marriage portrait
Maggie O'Farrell
top 10
The murder rule
Dervla McTiernon
top 10
The Jane Austen remedy
Ruth Wilson
top 10
The promise
Damon Galgut
top 10
The ghost fields
Elly Griffiths
2023 Booker Prize Shortlist
2023 Miles Franklin Literary Award Shortlist
Previous Miles Franklin Winners
2023 Stella Prize Shortlist
Previous Stella Prize Winners
2023 Prime Minister's Literary Award Winners
Australian history
Young adult literature
Children's literature
Previous Prime Minister's Literary Award Winners
2023 Nobel Laureate for Literature
Previous Nobel Prizes in Literature
Play Video

Become a Member

Circulation desk 2020 by Grace Petrou